MORE DISCOVER COLUMBUS!
In the central or “downtown”
section, the
Chattahoochee
Promenade
has a number of
Gazebos, and the Coca Cola
Space Science Center (shown in
background) has numerous
educational  programs and a
planetarium.
A formal garden with fountain
stands behind a charming
cottage now used as
headquarters of
Keep Columbus
Beautiful
.  Through the garden
gate is the green space where
Arts on the River was held in
2007.
Heritage Park follows 7th Street
from Broadway to Front Avenue.  
With bronze sculptures and
fountains, it depicts the heritage
of the city of Columbus.
On a bluff overlooking the river are
Civil War cannon and gazebos with
historical markers.
Two blocks from the river on Broadway is RiverCenter for
the Performing Arts.
 In the median in front of the
building is a water sculpture titled “Schauss Spiel”  which
translates from the German as “Drama”.
Behind the historic homes of Heritage Corner is a recreation
of
John Pemberton’s pharmacy in which he reportedly
developed the formula for Coca-Cola.  This reconstructed well
stands in the courtyard, with the pharmacy behind it.
700 Broadway is one of the few
surviving 2 story brick Victorian
houses in what is now known as
“The District”.  For years it
served as headquarters for the
Historic Columbus Foundation,
and now serves as a private
residence.
.  Nearly all of the
Original Historic
District
has been
renovated, with many of
the homes having been
moved to The District
from other locations in
the city.  Incentive loans
are available to
encourage occupancy
and renovations.
. .  Once the hub of
transportation in Columbus,
Union Station saw most of the
arrivals and departures in the
city.  With the advent of other
forms of transport, it eventually
closed and fell into disuse.  To
the rescue was TSYS, who
renovated and restored the
building to its former glory and
used it as offices until it was
taken over by the Greater
Columbus Chamber of
Commerce, and is commonly
referred to as the Depot.  
Downtown Broadway
has been undergoing a
Streetscapes project for
several years.  On 12th
Street stands the
Columbus Ledger-
Enquirer building, the
daily newspaper for the
city and surrounding
areas.  Sometimes
lovingly called the 12th
Street Rag by
dissenters, it has in it’s
history a Pulitzer Prize.
.  The State Theatre of
Georgia, the 1871
Springer Opera House, is
one of the best live theater
venues in the Southeast.  
Renovated in 1999 to
mimic the 1906
restoration, tours of the
facility are available.  
Nearly razed in the 1960’s,
it was saved by a
dedicated group of
preservationists, and has
a large following.
The 1839 Goetchius House was moved to its
current location on southern Broadway near the
river.  It operates as a restaurant, with a patio and
courtyard overlooking the river.  Just a little south is
the South Commons with Golden Park, the Civic
Center, and a notable softball complex.
Ornate columns can be
seen throughout the
Springer Opera House.  
This is following the most
recent renovation of the
1800’s structure.
On the grounds of the
Columbus Museum are the
Olmstead Gardens, in a
constant state of
preservation and renewal.  
This fountain is in the
wooded area surrounded
by azalea trails.
Behind the old Bradley Library, now a School
District building, are more of the gardens similar
to those of the Museum across the street.  Many
a wedding photo has used this bridge over a
pond as a backdrop.
The Columbus Museum, once the plantation
home of W.C. Bradley now shows little of it’s
former self.  Donated for use as a museum, it
has been rebuilt to become a premier art and
history museum.  Atop Wynn’s Hill in the
Wynnton area, is the Wynn House, which is
also available for tours.
Our neighbor to the south,
Fort Benning, is known as
the Home of the Infantry.  A
new Infantry Museum is being
constructed near the post
boundaries, across from
Oxbow Meadows and the
South Riverwalk.  This
Ranger Memorial, near
Infantry Hall (Building 4) was
constructed with donations
from many former Rangers.  
Bricks bear the names of
those who served as
Rangers.  The tall bayonet at
the end of the walk
commemorates those
Rangers over the decades.
In Sacrifice Field,
across from the Building
396, (formerly the
Infantry Museum and
former Post Hospital),
stand numerous
monuments to units that
fought in many wars.
This memorial is to the
“K-9” units; the
War
Dogs
and their handlers
who performed an
outstanding yet often
unrecognized service.
Airborne Walk is behind Infantry Hall, with
Jump Towers where trainees work to get
their Wings.  World War II planes and
historical markers line the Walk.
Back to HOME PAGE
ALL PHOTOS by LOIS TRYON, Columbus, GA
SEE MORE!
DISCOVER PAGE 3